web site hit counter The Sirens - Ebooks PDF Online
Hot Best Seller

The Sirens

Availability: Ready to download

Glasgow private investigator Derek Adams can't seem to get away from the otherworldly, especially not when it seems to be the only paying gig in town. So when an old widow offers him two grand to find her son-who isn't exactly missing...just not himself-it's not long before things start to get weird, and a road trip to the rural village of Skye turns into a detour to the t Glasgow private investigator Derek Adams can't seem to get away from the otherworldly, especially not when it seems to be the only paying gig in town. So when an old widow offers him two grand to find her son-who isn't exactly missing...just not himself-it's not long before things start to get weird, and a road trip to the rural village of Skye turns into a detour to the twilight. Before long, Derek is on a remote island, hip-deep in mermaids, stalked by shape-shifters, and tangled in the nets of a diabolical fisher cult intent on waking an ancient god and unleashing the apocalypse. In other words, it's business as usual.


Compare

Glasgow private investigator Derek Adams can't seem to get away from the otherworldly, especially not when it seems to be the only paying gig in town. So when an old widow offers him two grand to find her son-who isn't exactly missing...just not himself-it's not long before things start to get weird, and a road trip to the rural village of Skye turns into a detour to the t Glasgow private investigator Derek Adams can't seem to get away from the otherworldly, especially not when it seems to be the only paying gig in town. So when an old widow offers him two grand to find her son-who isn't exactly missing...just not himself-it's not long before things start to get weird, and a road trip to the rural village of Skye turns into a detour to the twilight. Before long, Derek is on a remote island, hip-deep in mermaids, stalked by shape-shifters, and tangled in the nets of a diabolical fisher cult intent on waking an ancient god and unleashing the apocalypse. In other words, it's business as usual.

52 review for The Sirens

  1. 5 out of 5

    Riju Ganguly

    The Occult Detective genre can be quite tricky to handle, as evident from the extremely limited number of jewels scattered amongst the veritable heaps of trash across the landscape. William Meikle, and his Glasgow PI Derek Adams, have successfully managed to establish the 'Midnight Eye Files' series as a top-draw in this genre by virtue of several specialities: 1. The Detective belongs to the hard-boiled era, with all the characteristic features like witty dialogues, heavy drinking, getting himse The Occult Detective genre can be quite tricky to handle, as evident from the extremely limited number of jewels scattered amongst the veritable heaps of trash across the landscape. William Meikle, and his Glasgow PI Derek Adams, have successfully managed to establish the 'Midnight Eye Files' series as a top-draw in this genre by virtue of several specialities: 1. The Detective belongs to the hard-boiled era, with all the characteristic features like witty dialogues, heavy drinking, getting himself beaten up due to backstabbing on part of the clients, etc. As any lover of Chandler's writing would attest, you have to stick to such a hero. 2. The mysteries (man)handled by our protagonist owe their origins to several different literary/mythical sources, and hence are not repetitive or boring. 3. Although the mysteries are as old as time, the setting (modern urban wasteland of Glasgow, contrasted by the highlands and lakes) makes them contemporary. 4. The plots involve not just academic arcana, but also lots of action, with a definite undercurrent of sexual tension (but nothing graphic). Overall, if you like the Occult Detective genre, especially where the weirdness choses the protagonist and not the reverse, you would enjoy this series (only 3 books, out of which this one is the 2nd). Recommended.

  2. 4 out of 5

    Roy

    The second in the Midnight Eye Files series and the best of three in my opinion. Our tough, former cop, Glaswegian private eye is once again up to his eyes in an occult case. What starts out as a task to bring back a wayward son turns into a strange case involving mermaids and ancient Norse gods. Great story.

  3. 5 out of 5

    Jacqueline Jackson

    Another great story! This series is fantastic! The author created another Lovecraftian detective story that works. The Midnight Eyes Files are well worth your time and money!

  4. 5 out of 5

    Kristen

    Poor cover art may turn many away from this book… a poor synopsis on the back will discourage many more. In fact, the synopsis on the back is completely irrelevant to the book – the phone call mentioned does occur… however it has no bearing on the actual story what so ever. A true synopsis – After their previous case involving an amulet (which I assume is the first in the series) our PI, Derek Adams and his agoraphobic sidekick are hired for what should be a simple case. An old woman wants Derek Poor cover art may turn many away from this book… a poor synopsis on the back will discourage many more. In fact, the synopsis on the back is completely irrelevant to the book – the phone call mentioned does occur… however it has no bearing on the actual story what so ever. A true synopsis – After their previous case involving an amulet (which I assume is the first in the series) our PI, Derek Adams and his agoraphobic sidekick are hired for what should be a simple case. An old woman wants Derek to head north to a small town and retrieve her son so that he can attend his father’s funeral. What follows delves deeply into the ancient Norse mythology including sirens, Odin, Loki, a shape shifter and some not-so-friendly locals. Although this is classified as horror, and it does contain a monster… this book is more of an irreverent supernatural crime thriller. If it weren’t for the heavy use of profanity, I would recommend this as a young adult novel. For adults, they may have a tough time buying into everything that occurs. However, even though it lacks gore and is really never frightening, it is a fun book. The characters do all have similar voices and there is very little physical description of the different characters. It would have been easier to keep them mentally separate if the author hadn’t suffered from a penchant for names starting with the letter “D” or if they had each been given a distinctive voice. The character who stands out the most is the elderly chain-smoking widow, and even she is a dichotomy in that her personality shifts as the story needs it to. The plot itself is quite wild though the author does manage to keep a handle on it, keeping it as restrained as anything containing this much magic in modern day times can be. It is enough to keep your attention from beginning to end, and to be honest I’m still not entirely sure where the ending came from, but I’ll buy it. If you are looking for a light read that never takes itself too seriously then this can be quite an enjoyable time. The gore is light, and there is sexual contact told in the past tense (and the men have the wounds to prove it). The book does contain heavy profanity from a specific character, adult subjects such as suicide, and gore. If this were a movie and they cut the profanity down this would be a heavy PG-13 rating.

  5. 4 out of 5

    Kent Holloway

    I finished this a while back. Just forgot to add a review to it. Let me just say that it was definitely NOT a disappointment. Meikle has an amazing ability to take something from legend and make it feel so real, while at the same time keeping the purity of the original legends (not the modern cartoon version of those legends, but the real, gritty, historical ones) in tact. Whenever I read a Meikle book, I find myself shaking my head and wishing I could write just half the book Willie does. He's I finished this a while back. Just forgot to add a review to it. Let me just say that it was definitely NOT a disappointment. Meikle has an amazing ability to take something from legend and make it feel so real, while at the same time keeping the purity of the original legends (not the modern cartoon version of those legends, but the real, gritty, historical ones) in tact. Whenever I read a Meikle book, I find myself shaking my head and wishing I could write just half the book Willie does. He's amazing. Do yourself a favor and read the entire series.

  6. 5 out of 5

    Ken B

    PI Derek Adams returns in Meilkle's hard-boiled / noir follow-up to "The Amulet". Adams finds himself mixed up in a case intermingled with Norse mythology. This is a well-written hard-boiled novel in the tradition of Marlowe and Spade set in modern-day Scotland with a heavy dose of the supernatural. 4 STARS PI Derek Adams returns in Meilkle's hard-boiled / noir follow-up to "The Amulet". Adams finds himself mixed up in a case intermingled with Norse mythology. This is a well-written hard-boiled novel in the tradition of Marlowe and Spade set in modern-day Scotland with a heavy dose of the supernatural. 4 STARS

  7. 5 out of 5

    John R. Dailey Jr.

    A FINE TALE OF A DETECTIVE AND A VERY OLD LEGEND IT IS.. Hello, these are great stories. Detectives detecting weird stuff, can't get much better than that. I think most will enjoy. Thanks. A FINE TALE OF A DETECTIVE AND A VERY OLD LEGEND IT IS.. Hello, these are great stories. Detectives detecting weird stuff, can't get much better than that. I think most will enjoy. Thanks.

  8. 4 out of 5

    Annie

    Fabulous. Absolutely fabulous.

  9. 4 out of 5

    William

    Interesting mix: Mermaids, shape-changers, Norse gods. Enjoyable romp.

  10. 4 out of 5

    Kelly

    What a wild ride. I absolutely love this series, more mystery and intrigue. It will keep you guess until the very end. I cannot wait for the next book.

  11. 5 out of 5

    KindleintheWind

  12. 4 out of 5

    Kate Jonez

  13. 4 out of 5

    Joao

  14. 5 out of 5

    Bran Maskull

  15. 4 out of 5

    Neville Townsend

  16. 4 out of 5

    isanythingopen

  17. 5 out of 5

    Lisa

  18. 5 out of 5

    Shaun

  19. 4 out of 5

    Mark Olson

  20. 4 out of 5

    Jeremy W

  21. 4 out of 5

    Mark

  22. 5 out of 5

    Dennis

  23. 5 out of 5

    Cameron

  24. 4 out of 5

    Steven Cook

  25. 5 out of 5

    S.D. Hintz

  26. 5 out of 5

    Leonardo Carvalho

  27. 4 out of 5

    Mark

  28. 5 out of 5

    JP

  29. 4 out of 5

    dale archer

  30. 5 out of 5

    Kate

  31. 5 out of 5

    Margaret

  32. 5 out of 5

    Gary Colcombe

  33. 5 out of 5

    GaryandRuth

  34. 4 out of 5

    Danielle The Book Huntress (Back to the Books)

  35. 5 out of 5

    Darcy Stewart

  36. 4 out of 5

    Johnny morrison

  37. 4 out of 5

    Brandon

  38. 4 out of 5

    Michael

  39. 5 out of 5

    Michael Pugh

  40. 4 out of 5

    Primegrendel

  41. 4 out of 5

    Susan

  42. 4 out of 5

    Joshua

  43. 4 out of 5

    Rebekah Tufano

  44. 4 out of 5

    Louise BDGG

  45. 4 out of 5

    James Layne

  46. 4 out of 5

    Carpentermt

  47. 5 out of 5

    Anthony Watson

  48. 5 out of 5

    Pamela

  49. 4 out of 5

    Robert Krone

  50. 4 out of 5

    Shane Dougall

  51. 4 out of 5

    Cameron

  52. 5 out of 5

    Richard Reed

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.