web site hit counter Madness on the Orient Express: 16 Lovecraftian Tales of an Unforgettable Journey - Ebooks PDF Online
Hot Best Seller

Madness on the Orient Express: 16 Lovecraftian Tales of an Unforgettable Journey

Availability: Ready to download

16 LOVECRAFTIAN TALES FROM AN UNFORGETTABLE JOURNEY Trains embody the promise and peril of technological advance. They unlock opportunities for wealth and travel, but also create incredible chaos--uprooting populations and blighting landscapes. Work on or around the rails leads to unwelcome discoveries and, in light of the Mythos, dire implications in the spread of the ra 16 LOVECRAFTIAN TALES FROM AN UNFORGETTABLE JOURNEY Trains embody the promise and peril of technological advance. They unlock opportunities for wealth and travel, but also create incredible chaos--uprooting populations and blighting landscapes. Work on or around the rails leads to unwelcome discoveries and, in light of the Mythos, dire implications in the spread of the rail system as a whole. A certain path to uncovering unwelcome truths about the universe is to venture beyond our own "placid island of ignorance" and encounter foreign cultures. The Orient Express serves as the perfect vehicle for such excursions, designed as a bridge between West and East. Movement into mystery forms the central action for many stories in this volume. The only limitation placed upon writers for this collection was that their works somehow involve the Orient Express and the Mythos. The last warning whistle has blown, and we are getting underway. Have your tickets at the ready and settle in for a journey across unexpected landscapes to a destination that--well, we'll just let you see for yourself when you arrive. We promise this though: murder will be the least of your problems on this trip aboard the Orient Express!


Compare

16 LOVECRAFTIAN TALES FROM AN UNFORGETTABLE JOURNEY Trains embody the promise and peril of technological advance. They unlock opportunities for wealth and travel, but also create incredible chaos--uprooting populations and blighting landscapes. Work on or around the rails leads to unwelcome discoveries and, in light of the Mythos, dire implications in the spread of the ra 16 LOVECRAFTIAN TALES FROM AN UNFORGETTABLE JOURNEY Trains embody the promise and peril of technological advance. They unlock opportunities for wealth and travel, but also create incredible chaos--uprooting populations and blighting landscapes. Work on or around the rails leads to unwelcome discoveries and, in light of the Mythos, dire implications in the spread of the rail system as a whole. A certain path to uncovering unwelcome truths about the universe is to venture beyond our own "placid island of ignorance" and encounter foreign cultures. The Orient Express serves as the perfect vehicle for such excursions, designed as a bridge between West and East. Movement into mystery forms the central action for many stories in this volume. The only limitation placed upon writers for this collection was that their works somehow involve the Orient Express and the Mythos. The last warning whistle has blown, and we are getting underway. Have your tickets at the ready and settle in for a journey across unexpected landscapes to a destination that--well, we'll just let you see for yourself when you arrive. We promise this though: murder will be the least of your problems on this trip aboard the Orient Express!

30 review for Madness on the Orient Express: 16 Lovecraftian Tales of an Unforgettable Journey

  1. 4 out of 5

    DeAnna Knippling

    Solid collection that ranges the style gamut, not a skimmable story in the bunch. Includes one of my favorite stories of the year, "The God Beneath the Mountain," by James Sutter. Solid collection that ranges the style gamut, not a skimmable story in the bunch. Includes one of my favorite stories of the year, "The God Beneath the Mountain," by James Sutter.

  2. 5 out of 5

    Matthew J.

    A solid anthology. The stories ranged from good to very good. Even the (unfortunate) requisite first person present tense story isn't terrible (because using that tense in this one case actually makes sense with the story). Good stuff, and definitely worth a look for fans of the Mythos and the ever expanding Lovecraft circle. A solid anthology. The stories ranged from good to very good. Even the (unfortunate) requisite first person present tense story isn't terrible (because using that tense in this one case actually makes sense with the story). Good stuff, and definitely worth a look for fans of the Mythos and the ever expanding Lovecraft circle.

  3. 4 out of 5

    BethK

    Great little book of short stories, each involving something about the train or railroading, and something concerning the whole Lovecraftian/Cthulhu mythos. Each story is self-contained, so it is great to pick up and set down, then pick up again later - months or even years later. Each story is written by a different author, in a different style, and while the settings all have something to do with the Orient Express train - each story is in a different time period, or setting, with different hu Great little book of short stories, each involving something about the train or railroading, and something concerning the whole Lovecraftian/Cthulhu mythos. Each story is self-contained, so it is great to pick up and set down, then pick up again later - months or even years later. Each story is written by a different author, in a different style, and while the settings all have something to do with the Orient Express train - each story is in a different time period, or setting, with different human characters. Some have to do with the construction of the line, some take place in the early "Glory Days" of the Orient Express, some take place at the end of this marvelous train's lifetime.

  4. 4 out of 5

    CT-516

    For fans of H.P.Lovecraft, August Derlith, Lin Carter and the like, will enjoy this addition of Cthulhu-Mythos based stories, circling around the Orient Express. Please note, this is not directly related to the RPG campaign 'Horror on the Orient Express', but more of a collection of stories loosely related. I found the various tales to range from mildly entertaining to really good. A fun quick read for those interested in light horror fantasy mystery. If not already intrigued by the Cthulhu Myth For fans of H.P.Lovecraft, August Derlith, Lin Carter and the like, will enjoy this addition of Cthulhu-Mythos based stories, circling around the Orient Express. Please note, this is not directly related to the RPG campaign 'Horror on the Orient Express', but more of a collection of stories loosely related. I found the various tales to range from mildly entertaining to really good. A fun quick read for those interested in light horror fantasy mystery. If not already intrigued by the Cthulhu Mythos, I would rate this a 3.5 instead of a 4.

  5. 4 out of 5

    Melissa Joulwan

    3 1/2 stars.Fun!

  6. 4 out of 5

    Thistle

    I have zero interest in the Orient Express. I've never read any, and I'm not interested in, Lovecraftian stories. Then why did I pick up this book? There's an author I love, James Sutter, and he has a story in it. I'm reading everything of his I can get my hands on. I was surprised that I enjoyed most stories in this book. None of them were outright scary, though a number were creepy and a couple had some gross scenes. Most of them were well written and kept my interest. Nicely, every story in this I have zero interest in the Orient Express. I've never read any, and I'm not interested in, Lovecraftian stories. Then why did I pick up this book? There's an author I love, James Sutter, and he has a story in it. I'm reading everything of his I can get my hands on. I was surprised that I enjoyed most stories in this book. None of them were outright scary, though a number were creepy and a couple had some gross scenes. Most of them were well written and kept my interest. Nicely, every story in this book was written by an author in the gaming field. Most of them were traditional tabletop game writers, though a few were videogame writers. Sutter's story was the third to last one, and by the time I reached it, I pretty much had enough of this genre. I read the second to last one, but gave up in the middle of the final one, ending at the 87% point. It wasn't the fault of the story, I just was at my limit of stories about a subject I didn't really care about.

  7. 5 out of 5

    Jason Williams

    There are some very good stories in this anthology but thee are also a few mediocre stories. Could have used another proof reading pass and maybe another read by a copy editor. Other than that, a typical Chaosium fiction anthology that is worth picking up particularly if you are interested in their Horror on the Orient Express.

  8. 4 out of 5

    Charles Haworth

    Loved the Horror on the Orient Express rpg for CoC - my favourite roleplaying thing ever so had very high expectations Some good stories, some average and some that seemed shoe-horned to fit the theme of the book and not very Lovecraftian in my opinion. Wish it had been more like the roleplaying adventure - perhaps worth another star without that initial hope as to what I was going to read

  9. 4 out of 5

    Leonard Armitage

    Less than average.

  10. 4 out of 5

    Dimitrios Sfikas

  11. 5 out of 5

    Eric

  12. 4 out of 5

    Chris Callicoat

  13. 4 out of 5

    Mark

  14. 5 out of 5

    Jarrod

  15. 5 out of 5

    Marcos

  16. 5 out of 5

    Pluszzzz

  17. 5 out of 5

    Willie Harper

  18. 5 out of 5

    Iasa

  19. 5 out of 5

    Simon

  20. 4 out of 5

    Leo Au

  21. 4 out of 5

    Devlin Tay

  22. 5 out of 5

    Jesse

  23. 4 out of 5

    Harriet Brandsom

  24. 5 out of 5

    MR MORGAN T M BAIKIE

  25. 5 out of 5

    Mari

  26. 4 out of 5

    Tina

  27. 5 out of 5

    Dorothy Dewitte

  28. 5 out of 5

    Daniel Tershak

  29. 4 out of 5

    Patrick O'Connor-Davis

  30. 4 out of 5

    Deby M

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.