web site hit counter The Magician's Bird - Ebooks PDF Online
Hot Best Seller

The Magician's Bird

Availability: Ready to download

In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books. In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more seri In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books. In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more serious than a treasure hunt—their beloved school founder, Maria Tutweiler, has been accused of murdering Marchetti the Magician! Can Bud and Laurie—with the help of enthusiastic Misti and evil but useful Calliope—prove Maria Tutweiler's innocence? Or will Tuckernuck Hall be closed down for good? Emily Fairlie once again blends lists, notes, and classic prose to tell a story that sings with humor, suspense, and magic.


Compare

In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books. In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more seri In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books. In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more serious than a treasure hunt—their beloved school founder, Maria Tutweiler, has been accused of murdering Marchetti the Magician! Can Bud and Laurie—with the help of enthusiastic Misti and evil but useful Calliope—prove Maria Tutweiler's innocence? Or will Tuckernuck Hall be closed down for good? Emily Fairlie once again blends lists, notes, and classic prose to tell a story that sings with humor, suspense, and magic.

30 review for The Magician's Bird

  1. 5 out of 5

    Annie Page

    This book was won by me through Goodreads. Magician"s Bird Tuckernuck , Mystery by Emily Fairlie This book is great for the young that can read but I enjoyed it greatly myself reminding me of mystery books I read wheniI was young but this book is very much updated.You just have to love these kids I laughted at them and cheered for them and was scared for them which makes a good book. I love the way the author writes this book adding cute memos to there self ( If caught doing this !. ETC or 2 do thi This book was won by me through Goodreads. Magician"s Bird Tuckernuck , Mystery by Emily Fairlie This book is great for the young that can read but I enjoyed it greatly myself reminding me of mystery books I read wheniI was young but this book is very much updated.You just have to love these kids I laughted at them and cheered for them and was scared for them which makes a good book. I love the way the author writes this book adding cute memos to there self ( If caught doing this !. ETC or 2 do this or 3 try that) . The three mystery sloving students and some of there friends. The year before saved there school by solveing a mystery scanverage hunt which had not been solved years many years and found treasury. This year Mr Leffranco is going to see to it the school gets torn down one way or the other. So Bud, Laurie and Misti must stop him and prove there school was not much years earlier been run by a murderer and bootlegger. So the kids stumble across a seceret room ans a shiny bird and with the aid of a few others save the school once again.

  2. 4 out of 5

    Sarah Sammis

    http://www.pussreboots.pair.com/blog/... http://www.pussreboots.pair.com/blog/...

  3. 4 out of 5

    Heather

    A cute story, good young adult read.

  4. 4 out of 5

    Jessica

    Hooray! My second review for School Library Journal has been published. They seem to take quite a while to publish them-I submitted this one in September and I'm already working on my fifth review right now. I know it's kind of stupid, because only librarians, publishers, and maaaaybe some teachers read SLJ, but I have to admit that it's pretty cool to see my name in print, and especially to see myself blurbed on the B&N, Amazon and even the author's website. I actually found out that this one w Hooray! My second review for School Library Journal has been published. They seem to take quite a while to publish them-I submitted this one in September and I'm already working on my fifth review right now. I know it's kind of stupid, because only librarians, publishers, and maaaaybe some teachers read SLJ, but I have to admit that it's pretty cool to see my name in print, and especially to see myself blurbed on the B&N, Amazon and even the author's website. I actually found out that this one was published because my co-worker (who also started reviewing for SLJ) found me in there and called me up. For once, I do think that the review speaks for itself, and I don't need to add too much to it, but I will add a bit of background. I worked on this while I was in Japan. I meant to finish it before I left, but they only give you a month to read and review the book, which SHOULD be plenty of time, but in this case I wanted to read the first book, The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, so that I could really be able to compare. I found that this one was an improvement. It's not going to win any awards or anything, and there are other mysteries I'd recommend over this, but it was still pretty good. Gr 4–7—In this follow-up to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck (HarperCollins, 2012), seventh-graders Laurie Madison and Bud Wallace uncover a new mystery surrounding their school's founder. Once again, Tuckernuck Hall is in danger of shutting its doors, this time due to a local news article alleging Maria Tutweiler's involvement in the decades-old murder of Marchetti the Magician. Bud and Laurie are joined by their friend Misti and a questionable ally, Calliope Judkin, who is useful but might have ulterior motives. Can these middle schoolers save the founder's—and Tuckernuck Hall's—reputation, or will the Tuckernuck Clucker soon go the way of the dodo? Fairlie improves upon the pacing of the first book, creating a worthy sequel that can also function as a stand-alone novel. Lighthearted mystery and humor are sustained throughout. Like the earlier title, this one is told from Bud's and Laurie's third-person perspectives, switching back and forth sometimes on the same page. Bud, Laurie, Misti, and Calliope are more fully developed here, but the adult characters remain just as exaggerated and purposefully kooky, emphasizing the exasperation and embarrassment that tweens often feel about authority figures. Just the right sprinkling of notes, lists ("How to Keep Your Archnemesis from Noticing That Your Friend Has Just Fallen Through a Hole in the Floor"), emails, and illustrations break up the text and will keep reluctant readers engaged. Perfect for mystery fans looking for a healthy dose of adventure and fun.—Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library

  5. 5 out of 5

    Glen

    I won this book in a goodreads Firstreads drawing. A fairly good children's mystery set in a private school. Three kids trying to conduct a scavenger hunt find a secret room under a shed. This propels them into a mystery about the disappearance of a magician during the 1920's. A little simplistic, but probably good for kids about eight or nine years old. I thought the constant messages, lists, and emails were a little over the top, but kids today might enjoy them. I won this book in a goodreads Firstreads drawing. A fairly good children's mystery set in a private school. Three kids trying to conduct a scavenger hunt find a secret room under a shed. This propels them into a mystery about the disappearance of a magician during the 1920's. A little simplistic, but probably good for kids about eight or nine years old. I thought the constant messages, lists, and emails were a little over the top, but kids today might enjoy them.

  6. 5 out of 5

    Ramona

    I think this is a great book for young teens. It has a great format, interesting dialogue. I just got bored reading it. There was too much repetitive conversation for me. It would actually make a cute kids mini series for TV. Bud and Laurie return to solve another Tuckernuck school mystery. There are clues, notes to self, a treasure hunt, a mystery to solve. The other characters in the story are amusing.

  7. 4 out of 5

    Andrea

    I read this book aloud to my class after we finished reading The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck. I liked the first book better, but several of my students preferred this book. Good, reliable characters; fun to get to know Misti and Calliope better in this book. Fun references to things that happened in the first book, good mystery, good clues, good cliffhangers. My students really enjoyed listening to this book. They were asking about a third one!

  8. 5 out of 5

    Lula McCuela

    Loved this! These books always make me laugh, Misty is my favourite character in the book, although I did love Ms. Lucielle too. Ponch & Jon are always funny character, and I'm glad they were in this book too (no matter how little we saw them) Loved this! These books always make me laugh, Misty is my favourite character in the book, although I did love Ms. Lucielle too. Ponch & Jon are always funny character, and I'm glad they were in this book too (no matter how little we saw them)

  9. 4 out of 5

    emyrose8

    Not as many clues to follow in this mystery, still a fun read.

  10. 4 out of 5

    Donna

    A great read for the young and young at heart. If you love a good mystery, then this is the book for you. It's filled with humor and outrageous fun. A great mystery!!! A great read for the young and young at heart. If you love a good mystery, then this is the book for you. It's filled with humor and outrageous fun. A great mystery!!!

  11. 5 out of 5

    MollyH

    This book was really good! I didn't read the first one but I still understood the plot easily! This book was really good! I didn't read the first one but I still understood the plot easily!

  12. 5 out of 5

    Steven D Semmler

  13. 4 out of 5

    Margaret Chind

    Information post: http://creativemadnessmama.com/blog/2... Information post: http://creativemadnessmama.com/blog/2...

  14. 5 out of 5

    Meggie

  15. 4 out of 5

    Deana

  16. 5 out of 5

    Candace Hudson

  17. 5 out of 5

    Marcie

  18. 5 out of 5

    Anaya

  19. 5 out of 5

    Harry Knight

  20. 4 out of 5

    Donna Thompson

  21. 4 out of 5

    Sarah

  22. 4 out of 5

    Human

  23. 5 out of 5

    Menolly

  24. 5 out of 5

    Erin

  25. 4 out of 5

    VQC

  26. 4 out of 5

    Maggie

  27. 5 out of 5

    K N

  28. 5 out of 5

    Wensday

  29. 5 out of 5

    Abby W.

  30. 5 out of 5

    Ethan

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.